Friday, August 14, 2009

What's In Tiger Woods' Golf Bag - 2009 WGC Bridgestone Invitational

Tiger Woods won his 70th career PGA tour event last weekend by winning the 2009 WGC - Bridgestone Invitational at Firestone Country Club in Akron, Ohio. Do you want to know what Tiger was carrying in his golf bag during the win?

Driver: Nike SQ Dymo 380 prototype (10.5 degrees with Mitsubishi Diamana Whiteboard 83x shaft)
3-wood: Nike SQ2 (15 degrees with Mitsubishi Diamana Blueboard 103x shaft)
5-wood: Nike SQ2 (19 degrees with Mitsubishi Diamana Blueboard 103x shaft)
Irons:  Nike Forged Blades (3-PW) (True Temper Dynamic Gold X100 shafts)
SW:     Nike VR (56 degrees)
LW:     Nike SV (60 degrees)
Putter: Scotty Cameron by Titleist Newport 2
Ball:   Nike One Tour

Tiger played very well during the first 3 days, but played almost flawlessly on Sunday. Padraig Harrington had a 3-shot lead going into Sunday, but Tiger erased that lead by the 4th hole with an eagle and birdie.

The match was very tight until they came to the par 5 667-yard 16th hole where both Tiger and Padraig were put on the clock. Harrington had a 1-shot lead, but missed his drive to the right and hit a poor punch shot that left him with a difficult 3rd shot into the green. Tiger missed the fairway to the left and had to punch out. Tiger hit his approach shot with an 8-iron 182 yards to within a foot. Padraig hit his approach shot over the green, which left him with a very difficult downhill flop shot out of some deep rough. Harrington feeling a bit hurried because of being on the clock hit his flop into the water and ended up carding a triple-bogey 8. Tiger carded a birdie 4 and took a 3-shot lead and the tournament was over.

On 18, Tiger made a comment to Padriag saying that he was sorry that the PGA official put them on the clock. Tigers' comment stirred up some controversy about the PGA officials ruling on 16. With Tiger and Padraig being the last group on the course and battling it out... should they have been put on the clock? A lot of people say no because it affected the outcome of the tournament.

Tag(s): , , , ,

No comments: